Ornament Thursday: Independence!

It’s Ornament Thursday again!

 

 

 

Independence is the theme this month and as we are moving rapidly into July and Independence Day, this should get you thinking Red, White and Blue. I’ve had the opportunity to live outside the U.S. and to visit family in other countries at different points in my life. I love the differences I find elsewhere when I travel and I love coming home to the U.S. It’s not a perfect country, but it is one where I have the freedom to own my own business (2 of them actually) and have some control over my future. Now, on to the project!

The teaser this month started off with this picture; a jumble of tiny pieces…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the end result: A patriotic woven treasure bracelet in all it’s red, white, and blue glory. Loops of size 8 seed beads, lucite tulips, resin drops, handmade glass disks from BeadAddicts, and a few hours weaving and unweaving to get it all put together. These free-for-all clustery bracelets are my new obsession. This one is No. 6 and all of them are slightly different…and I’ve got about 6 more planned.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Be sure to check out all the other great Independence-inspired projects from the Ornament Thursday group. And check HERE for another patriotic themed bracelet.

Alexa Westerfield a.k.a. Swelldesigner
Craft some red, white, and blue drink charms from vintage wartime posters. They’ll make a big bang at your 4th of July cookout!

Art Bead Scene
Field of Poppies bracelet project from Heather.

Cindy Gimbrone aka Lampwork Diva
Celebrate the Independent Spirit

Linda at BeadStyle Magazine
Childhood memories of Independence Day’s past inspired this necklace.

Michelle’s take on Indpendence
Over at http design, Michelle has scuplted a piece which gives a different perspective on independence.

Strands of Beads
Melissa sees stars this month while considering the meaning of independence

What is America to Me?
Michelle’s favorite words on our country…


11 responses to “Ornament Thursday: Independence!

Leave a comment