Artisan Whimsey Patina Sunset Challenge

Slipping in under the wire with this challenge on Artisan Whimsey…I’ve been out of town for a short, but much-needed break with my parents in Colorado Springs!

Rita from Toltec Beads reminded me about this challenge and how perfect it would be to take part in with Color Me This patinas…I loved the beauty of heat patinas but I didn’t love the fact that I couldn’t replicate them at all, much less get great results regularly. I’m sure it was something I wasn’t doing, but given the fact that I love colors and also had a need to attempt to replicate some colors on design sheets for other designers, I went the route of working with some of my own blends and cold application patinas that are now on Etsy. More about those another day…

For Melinda Orr’s challenge on Artisan Whimsey, I decided to submit one of my newest creations and part of a series that will grow as the ideas are overflowing (more than the time available to implement them!)

I have been making etched copper and brass cuffs for a couple of years now, selling them on Etsy, Facebook and at shows. I love the etched textures and I love coloring them. One of my favorite patterns is a background of peacock feathers.

This is one of several color variations I’ve come up with. It features Turquoise and Sapphire over Burgundy and Plum (all from the Original set of Color Me This 6-pack). I’ve swirled and layered and sanded and played til I got something that I liked. This particular one not only mimics the colors of peacock feathers, but also has some great sunset colors with the Burgundy and Butterscotch shades. On top of these, I’ve added some  luster with some shimmer dust powders and played some more.  You can find others on my Facebook page. Check out other Patina Sunset Challenge participants

DSC01714

Leave a Reply

