2011…Time for changes

Happy New Year!

One of my resolutions is to resurrect my blog. 2010 wasn’t a very good year for updates. Creativity ebbed more than flowed and life just got in the way.

Sales were off with the economy’s downturn and at some point I made a decision to add copper jewelry to the mix. It’s been a journey, and to be honest, it’s hard to say it’s been a success yet. Here are a couple of photos of what I’ve been up to. The copper rings have been fun to make and they are great for short bursts of creative time and energy. You can see a whole line of copper jewelry in my Etsy store.

  

But, I’ve started off the new year by finally setting up a dedicated work area (and reclaiming my kitchen table and window seat). My book design office is a 10×20 foot room, that could have been our 3rd garage stall (except that we only had one car when we built the house and 3 stalls seemed crazy). Half of that room has had a large corner computer desk setup intended to be a way to stay on top of my daughter’s computer use and for homework. She’s a senior and in no way interested in being in the same room as me for enough time to warrrant that dusty, neglected work area!

So…I spent much of the Christmas/New Years week clearing out stuff (to the garage…which is another story altogether…we have 2 garage stalls, 2 cars and only 1 fits in the garage). I decided the computer workstation could be a great work area…shelves, left and right hand space. There was already a side work table that became a clutter-catcher. Lots of space to fill, and boy, did I fill it!

As with all good makeover stories, there should be before and after photos. I ALWAYS remember that at the “After” part.  What I have are “In Progress” shots with sketchy light.

 The left side has magazines and books along with the finished Joolz travel cases. I’ve got some of my stash of lampwork beads in the drawers and some out where I can see them.

The right side has Art Clay Silver supplies, a huge Swarovski stash (and I rarely use them so they may get sold off…) that fit so nicely in this very cool spice rack from Bed Bath and Beyond. There’s also a few trays of copper and silver findings for work in progress now

 

Santa was nice and contributed a great storage solution from Michaels scrapbook section (which just needs to be pulled forward a skosh so I don’t have to stand up everytime I need a container). I can’t believe it is full to the brim and I still need to organize my Hill Tribe Silver a bit more.

I’ve set up a metalworking area on my right (the former clutter-catcher table) and it should be almost perfect when I get a better chair in place. This area has been updated since the photo…the flexshaft is attached and the ribbons have a new home…the kiln doesn’t get much use at the moment so it’s a become a bit of a catchall.

I moved in another multi-drawer storage cabinet from the dining room (at one time another work area) and actually filled it with materials…a pearl drawer, supplies, miscellaneous jewelry that hasn’t been priced, natural stones, and more lampwork beads. It is right behind the work area and I’m thinking of adding the second one I have on top at some point.

The carpet needs to come out and quite frankly, I’ll pull half of it out myself and just deal with the concrete for the time being. The whole room needs painting, and that’s part of what has always held this transformation back. I’ve got two huge bookcases full of books I’ve designed for publishers, not to mention the other whole side of the office with computers, printer, scanner, etc. Moving all that out to paint would require a temporary office space to stay in business (but the kitchen table is now clear…hmmm……..). So that’s a project for another month/year.

Right now, I’m focused on getting new Joolz completed for the Webb School ArtXtravaganza in early March in Knoxville.  And I’ve just signed up for the Bead Soup Exchange orchestrated by Lori Anderson so hopefully these will also provide me the incentive to do better with blog updates. For now, I’m going to shoot for every other week, though I’ve also thought about adding a review of books related to beading and jewelry…I’ve managed to acquire quite of few new ones of late.

In any event, I hope in time, I’ll have lured back som of the readers I’ve lost over the last year.

2 responses to “2011…Time for changes

Leave a Reply

