Valentine’s Day Blog Carnival

So Valentine’s Day is rolling around again and once again I ask myself this question: Will heart-themed jewelry sell better around this holiday or can it be a year-round thing?

Done right, I think hearts in jewelry rock all year long (but then I’m selling jewelry!). I’ve made and sold my share of red, pink, and white beads and hearts in jewelry over the years and I’d hate to think they were relegated to a drawer for 11 months (to be remembered the next February with any luck). I’ve actually been on the hunt for black hearts this month thinking they would make up an elegant piece of jewelry.

And I have a weakness for Karen Hill Tribe silver hearts…all shapes and sizes. In fact, one of my favorite bracelets uses them (it’s in the banner of the blog for now) along with “gumdrop” glass lampwork beads and vintage lucite flowers. It is the ultimate “girly girl” bracelet.

Thinking of year-round hearts reminds me of this set:

silver2.jpg

My mom snagged it off the website shortly after I posted it. She has exquisite taste (if I do say so myself!). I was thinking the other day of doing another version of this set (I’d kill to find that centerpiece heart again though!). Anyway, even with all the hearts, my mom wears this regularly. That’s what I mean about getting it right. A classic piece rather than a holiday piece.

Here’s another “Un-Valentine” piece…on Etsy.

fiberheart1.jpg

And for the trivia fans in the group, according to Wikipedia: “The U.S. Greeting Card Association estimates that approximately one billion valentines are sent each year worldwide, making the day the second largest card-sending holiday of the year behind Christmas. The association estimates that women purchase approximately 85 percent of all valentines.”

Do yourself a favor: send him a card and a link to my site!

13 responses to “Valentine’s Day Blog Carnival

Leave a Reply

