It’s Raining, It’s Pouring…

 rain.jpg

OK, actually the sun is out but for about 24 hours straight we had downpours of rain. “So?” you say. Well, considering we get about 7 inches of rainfall all year in most of Arizona, 1 to 2 inches in a day is newsworthy.

I love a good rainy day. In fact, yesterday I had the front door open and I listened to rain falling most of the day. It would have been better to curl up with a blanket and a good book while listening, but I was working so I imagined that scenario. I was hoping to take advantage of it today, but I may have missed the window.

We are so spoiled with year-round good weather here (excluding the fact that 100+ days of 100+ degree weather does get incredibly old). My daughter was moaning about “when would the sun come out” this morning as I drove her to tutoring. C’mon! It was barely 24 hours and 8 of that she was sleeping! All afternoon she was saying she had hypothermia from walking classroom to classroom in the steady drizzle (at least I know the tutoring is paying off…she actually looked up “hypothermia” to make sure she was using it correctly!).

We talked about the fact that we get our yearly rain from December to February if we are lucky (with a few drenching in July). How the ground is so hard that the rain doesn’t get absorbed but runs off creating flooded streets and areas (compounded by a very limited underground sewer system). Some things for her to think about. Oh and I corrected her assumption that “you’d think this was Seattle with all this rain.” We are a few hundred days short of being rainy like Seattle!

Oh, hurray! It has clouded over again and started drizzling…time to open the front door and find a book! Or maybe finish a jewelry project or two!


6 responses to “It’s Raining, It’s Pouring…

  • Suz

    Enjoy the rain Lisa – I love the variety and unpredictability of Melbourne weather. To some it’s a negative, but it’s one of the many things I love about my City. Even in the middle of summer we generally get some cooling downpours to break up the heat (despite the fact that we are in the middle of a 5 year drought).

  • Lori Anderson

    Hey, I love the bracelet you’re using as your header today!!!!!

  • joolzbylisa

    Thanks Lori…it’s one of my Melonhead Joolz. Need to get a few more of those made this month.

    Suz…I will get to experience your weather one day. 🙂

  • margot

    Hey Lisa

    I envy your weather! I’m a warm and sunny sort of a gal and I live in the cold and snowy Northeast.

    I’ll be in Tucson in February though and I’m hoping this year it’s sunny!

    Cheers,
    Margot

  • joolzbylisa

    It is pretty pleasant in Feb. I have friends coming out for the shows…will you be at one of the shows? We’ll come by to say “hey”.

  • Lori G

    hee hee. Your daughter is right. It’s a wet cold. It feels colder here when it rains than it does anywhere else. Goes straight to your bones. Poor child. 🙂

Leave a comment