Ornament Thursday: Heliotrope by any other name is my favorite color (Purple)

ornamentbanner150It’s Ornament Thursday again!

The theme this month is “Heliotrope”, which I was pretty sure was a shade of purple. In fact, it’s a “light tint of purple”. I immediately thought of these beads, which I made into this fun necklace. Susan Sheehan made these pinwheel glass beads and I’ve loved the color. But then I am a fan of purple in all shades.

suzywheels2

It looks more light purple in person so blame my photo skills. The glass “wheel” beads are just a lot of fun. But then when I was looking further, I thought maybe Heliotrope is more like this color:

purpleclouder1

More of Susan’s beads in a whimsical pair of earrings. You just can’t help but smile at purple. And these beads are probably truer to looking like the flower in the heliotrope plant.

In case you have doubts, here’s a true heliotrope plant. Looking at it, I guess the color is somewhere in between both of my examples. :)

File:Heliotropium peruvianum.jpg

Image from Wikipedia.com

Check the other OT members sites to see how “Heliotrope” makes it’s way into Ornament Thursday.

Farm Girl Roots, City Girl Style
Check out Linda’s necklace and don’t miss the giveaway!

Heliotrope-Ornament Thursday
Did someone say violet?

Heliotrope: Purple by any other name…
Lisa waffles on what shade of purple is really “Heliotrope”

Ornament Thursday is here!
Michelle Zimmerman gets funky with these home made mica shift bead earrings and Helen Bradley secretly raids someone else’s bead box for a fun silver bracelet.

Shelly…
Michelle shares a heliotrope layout of her her and her fish!

7 responses to “Ornament Thursday: Heliotrope by any other name is my favorite color (Purple)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 996 other followers

